If you have a My Book Live from Western Digital, you should disconnect it from the internet. The reason is that several reports indicate that you might otherwise lose all your files.
- Factory reset My Book Live = all files are deleted
- Many users around the world were affected
- Western Digital rejects all criticism
Read more: New, super-fast external SSD from Western Digital – up to 1,050 MB / s over USB-C
Factory reset My Book Live over the Internet – deletes all files
The reports come from users all over the world and indicate that they have lost several terabytes of data on their My Book Live devices.
Passwords have stopped working, so users can not even log in to see what happened. And when some have gained access after all, they see that someone has given their My Book Live the command to factory reset.
And that means that all files are deleted in one go.
The worst affected users have lost several years with important photos, videos and documents.
Memories and emotion data have been overwritten and are irrevocably gone forever.
Read more: Western Digital and Seagate use performance-enhancing technology their hard drives
Western Digital rejects all criticism
My Book Live is an old external hard drive that can still be accessed via a network connection using Western Digital’s cloud service.
The device has not been updated with new software since 2015, which increases the risk of vulnerabilities that Western Digital does not fix. And some users speculate that the manufacturer is responsible for the problem that led to the devices being factory reset and files being deleted.
Could it be that Western Digital has been hacked and that unauthorized people have gained access to the My Book Live devices via the cloud service?
No, says Western Digital. Instead, the manufacturer believes that it is malicious code, so-called malware, which is the culprit in the drama. Here is the complete message from Western Digital:
Read more: Western Digital’s cloud storage service has a built – in back door
Western Digital has determined that some My Book Live devices are being compromised by malicious software. In some cases, this compromise has led to a factory reset that appears to erase all data on the device. The My Book Live device received its final firmware update in 2015. We understand that our customers’ data is very important. At this time, we recommend you disconnect your My Book Live from the Internet to protect your data on the device. We are actively investigating and we will provide updates to this thread when they are available. ”
Western Digital is investigating what happened and says they will return with more information when they have it. Until then, all users with a My Book Live are encouraged to disconnect from the network.