WhatsApp requires you to accept their new terms. Failure to do so will result in the deletion of your account. But it will not happen immediately, so you have plenty of time to accept the terms if you regret it.
The whole process looks like the following. From May 15, 2021, WhatsApp users who have not approved the new terms will be prompted to do so. The request is accompanied by information that the service may be restricted if the terms are not accepted.
If the user continues to refuse, WhatsApp will be restricted. To begin with, you can only receive calls for a number of weeks. During that time, it is not possible to send messages or start conversations with others.
During this phase, the account is flagged as inactive – even if you are still logged in and using the mobile app. After 120 days, the account is permanently deleted.
It is therefore important that you do not ignore all warnings from WhatsApp if you want to continue using the service after September 2021.
WhatsApp published a message on February 18 with the news that they are starting to show warning message to some of their users. You can read the full text on the official WhatsApp blog here.